Happy Pi day!

Standard

Attention – geeky content alert. Don’t say I didn’t warn you!

While I am still utterly confused when I see dates written the ‘American’ way (and indeed flat out refuse to adapt to this) (although that might also have to do with the above mentioned confusion), I am happy to make an exception today – March 14th, aka 3.14. Pi day! And coincidentally (or not!), also Einstein’s birthday.

I find it only fitting that this beautiful number has a day of its own (though really, it deserves at least 3. plus some hours.), but I’m having some trouble deciding on how to celebrate.

Should I memorize as many digits as possible? However… I’m pretty sure I will pale next to this girl:

So… solving a pi-pie-puzzle then, maybe? Nah… last time I ordered a package from the States it took 3 weeks to get here, and there’s no point celebrating in April, is there?

Note this is a DOUBLE-SIDED puzzle...

And while some sources maintain that pi is, in fact, pie

Proof that 3.14 is, in fact, pie.

everyone knows pie is actually 2 pi, so baking in honor of today wouldn’t really make sense either (at least in this universe) …

… unless I would make a spherical pie, of course. Which I would gladly do, but… euh… I forgot eggs at the grocery store. Right! No eggs, no cake. (bring out the disappointment voice – all together now: “oooooooooh”)

I am not quite patient enough to pull off something arty like “Chaos”, a mosaic based on 100 000 digits of Pi after comma

and with even

not helping out any further, I guess there is nothing to do but to sit back, relax and listen to some pi-music
http://c.brightcove.com/services/viewer/federated_f9?isVid=1

while reading silly pi-comics
.

And you, how will you celebrate the geekiest holiday of the year?

via Neatorama, Boing Boing, New Scientist, and Pi Day.

4 responses »

Leave a comment