Has anyone seen …

Standard

Apparently, there is something about Mondays in the last week of January. They’re blue.

Who knew?

Blu Monday, which occurs during the last full week of January, is supposed to be the most depressing time of the year because, generally, one or more of the following occur: a) the weather sucks; b) New Year’s resolutions have failed; c) motivation is at an all-time low since the next holiday is SO far away; and d) the Christmas tree has gone. The exact formula, by Cliff Arnall, is total nonsense, as is the concept – but you have to admit it has a nice ring to it and since there is nothing new to report (in Belgium the government is … still non-existent, the floods … are still there, the flu … also), it makes for a good easy-read article.

Now, some say Blue Monday was yesterday. Others say it is next week. I say: it’s a whole bloody Blue Week. (and yes, I can tell only 2 days down the road)

The reason may seem elusive: the weather is nice, I’m keeping up with my New Year’s resolutions (moaning: check!) and my Christmas stars (didn’t have a tree) are still dangling in front of the window.

But. Something is missing. And I know exactly what.

One like this. But pink. And prettier. (image via http://www.artfulcookie.com)

In case anyone was wondering why I refer to my girlfriend as “T” (you didn’t really think that was the first letter of her real name, did you?) – I call her Tinkel. Or Tink. Or Tinkerbell. What – she’s blonde!
I got this mug from a friend when I came here so I would have ‘my Tink’ always with me (corny, I know, but what can I say? “Corny” is my middle name …). And up until Christmas break, I did. My faithful hot chocolate coffee mug went wherever I went and I never left her alone, not even in the dishwasher.

But then I did.

And somebody took her.

And despite checking both dishwashers and all the cupboards 3 times a day, she remains missing.

So if my productivity level the past week is any indication of how poorly I function without my mug, you better give it back ASAP. Otherwise I’m afraid my project will have to be cancelled.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

