Quote on a Sungday

Standard

Courage is the art of being the only one who knows you’re scared to death.

— Harold Wilson


I’m really good at this – I’m a coward at heart, but once I realize everyone is more scared than I am, I become some kind of invincible hero.

Last summer T and I were hiking through the Croatian hills, and it wasn’t going too well. The track was (FAR) above our capabilities, we had been hiking all day, there were only a few hours of daylight left and we had no clue where we were on the map – though we both know how to read maps fairly well (aren’t we emancipated!), it’s hard to asses where you are in a 3km long canyon if you have no good idea of the speed you’re moving at. We were climbing over rocks more than we were walking. I was losing it. So here’s what T did: she started crying.
Now, I’m the crybaby of the two. I’m a hormonal mess at best and an estrogen typhoon at worst. T is calm, rational, and controlled. She doesn’t cry. But there, and then, she did. And that is exactly what I needed. I straightened up – for her. I had to be strong – for her. She was scared, and cold, and hungry, and it was my duty to bring her into safety and make sure she’d be ok. I gathered all my courage, invented some more, and helped her over all the rocks. It still took us almost two hours, but we made it out right before sunset. It goes to show how well T knows me, and how I scared I really was, not seeing she was faking it :).

Meanwhile this was Zornik, another Belgian band (maybe I should make a habit out of it, promote Belgian music, you think I could get sponsoring for that? :) ) and Scared of Yourself. Watch the video entirely, I think it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

