Quote on a Sungday

Standard

Time is a sort of river of passing events, and strong is its current;

no sooner is a thing brought to sight than it is swept by and another takes its place, and this too will be swept away.

— Marcus Aurelius


Now I am in no way an expert in classical music – in fact, this Boléro by Ravel is one of the few pieces I actually know. I first got to know it through a course in classical music my father took (they used it to help identify different musical instruments since many get a solo in this piece) and immediately wanted to learn the clarinet. 15 years later I have never so much as tried out a clarinet, but I am still very much in love with the music, the story I feel it tells – I imagine being carried by a river, smooth and gently in the beginning, with continuously wonder growing as the journey progresses, finally reaching destination: the mighty sea. Am I being too dramatic? Probably… I still love it though.
The second part of the video can be found here.

Leave a Reply

