Five Ways to Get Featured on Freshly Pressed

Standard

As you may or may not know, I am currently maintaining two blogs: this one, and The Other Blog. And while this one is set as the primary one, The Other One was first, and this seems to be the reason why – more often than not – people who follow my comments to my blog actually end up on The Other Blog. Which is in Dutch. And talks mainly about how nice it is here (you gotta comfort them friends and family, after all). And is thus not very well suited reading material for your average American blogger. And as any beginning blogger obsessing over stats can testify: it’s hard enough to get other bloggers to pay attention to your feeble attempt to join the blogosphere, let alone if half of those which bother to be interested are redirected to the wrong blog. In addition to that that, I’m not too keen on my friends and family visiting The Other Blog discovering this one. It’s MINE! My precious…

Ahum, sorry about that.

And thus I was trying to find my way around the WordPress FAQ section to see how I best performed the surgery on my Sesame twin-blogs, when I stumbled upon this article.

Five Ways to Get Featured on Freshly Pressed

Stop the worrying over dropping stats, the sleepless nights, the frustration over why-oh-why the WordPress Gods didn’t recognize the sheer genius of your last post – there is an actual manual on how to get your much-deserved 24 hours of fame! Obviously, generous as I am, I gladly share their tips with you.

1. Write unique content that’s free of bad stuff.
Each post that makes it to Freshly Pressed contains original content created by the WordPress user. Bad stuff includes (but isn’t limited to) plagiarism, hate speech, fear-mongering, adult/mature content, copyrighted images that belong to someone else, spam or content that is primarily advertorial in nature.
Ehm.. yeah… so since I just copy-pasted this from the original page, I guess this post doesn’t exactly fit the “original content” requirement. At least I’m not pretending it’s my own… and I provided a link to source… no?

2. Include images or other visuals.
Although not every topic can be illustrated, we believe most blog posts can and should have a visual element. We like original images (meaning, your own) but if not, be sure you properly credit the original source. Video rocks, too. You may get a request from us to add an image before you are promoted to Freshly Pressed — the faster you can respond, the more likely we’ll put your post on the homepage.
But… but… I can’t upload my own pictures right now! I don’t have the cable to connect to my laptop… :/ (and while having lost it could, in my case, be an entirely plausible explanation to this situation arising, actually I received my current camera second hand from a friend which had already lost the cable). And I don’t have a card reader. Yet. But let’s see if Google or Flickr can come up with something to match this post…

This is probably how I'd react on being Freshly Pressed.

(Image taken from Lori Dyans post on being Freshly Pressed not so long ago – apparently, we have a lot in common.)

3. Add tags.
We find new posts by surfing the tag pages. If you don’t use tags, we can’t find you and how sad would that be? Also, don’t use tags that are too obscure (“beauty tips from the ancient world”) but rather more common tags (“beauty,” “history”).
“freshly”, “pressed”, “freshly pressed”, “tips”, “blog”, “hints”, “wordpress”, ehm… ehm… help? Somebody?

4. Cap off your post with a compelling headline.
Your headline needs to stand out. Avoid swear words, excessive punctuation or vague statements. We love a clever headline, and that’s often the reason we click on your article in the first place.
Now that was easy… I learned copy-pasted from the master.

5. Aim for typo-free content.
We know, we’re human, too — errors happen. We recommend using our Proofreading feature before you hit “publish.” If you’ve got a few typos but we really like your post, we may ask you to fix them. In most cases, we’ll put your post on Freshly Pressed after you’ve made the changes.
Do I get more credit for not being a native speaker? Yeah… thought so… maybe this is the signal to get something done about my punctuation, though, I seem to be using ahelluvalot ellipses lately… (I rest my case).

Ok, I am ready – WordPress home page, here I come!

NOTE – For those who’d like to see additional tips on blogging and maintaining a blog in general, check Share the Word, the Editor’s Blog by Joy Victory (the “Editorial Czar”) and Erica Johnson (“Editorial Producer”) which provides regular posts with self-evident and less self-evident tips and tricks for us newbie bloggers. Enjoy and learn!

2 responses »

  1. with the way i’m writing
    i’ll never get it to freshly pressed
    so it’s enough blessing
    that someone is reading
    uh how about scanning
    my posts.
    can’t help it but bless
    my readers er scanners too.
    blessings to you!
    :)

  2. You’ll make it to Freshly Pressed BECAUSE of your way of writing.

    I am happy being read… happy being commented at… as I am happy to read, and to comment – through sharing I learn so much.

    Thanks for sharing, blessings to you to!

Leave a Reply

