To share or not to share, that’s the question

Standard

For those who haven’t read my About section (shame on you all!), one of the reasons I have started this blog is the fact that I’ll be starting a job abroad for a year and I’d like some way to keep in touch with my friends and family without having to mail them all separately once a week. It’s not like have a huge family or tons of friends, but enough to not wanting to mail them all with the same stories on a regular basis. Hence: a blog.

But.

(There always is a but, isn’t there.)

A blog accessible to friends and family is naturally restricted in its topics. I cannot – not TRULY – write about an argument with my mother (or the lack thereof – I am pretty sure this will be material for a TON of posts), or the not-so-impressive painting of a friend who feels he has just completed his masterpiece (okay, this one I made up).

So the question is: should I or should I not share the address with them? If I don’t, the whole purpose of the blog is kinda lost. Completely lost, even. If I do, I will not be as free to write as I would like to be. Currently I haven’t disclosed the address to anyone, but I have done a similar thing while I was an exchange student, and people have asked me if I’ll do it again. I’ve responded evasively … “maybe”.

Leave a Reply

